Chris 'moorman1' Moorman
Chris 'moorman1' Moorman deep in Crazy Eights event (WPT photo)

It’s finally here! After more than a month of awesome action and anticipation, the $10,000 Main Event is upon us at the 2018 World Series of Poker.

Monday saw Day 1A kick off, but it also saw some other events begin to wind down. It’ll by no means be a quiet end to the PLO Giant, Crazy Eights, or $10K Stud 8 though, as they all have big names still remaining.

Here’s all the news from July 2.

$10,000 Main Event Kicks Off, Defending Champ Blumstein Out

Well, one thing’s for sure right off the bat: we’re going to see a new champion this year. It was always going to be a super long shot that Scott Blumstein could go back-to-back (like, super long), but his elimination today means a new Main Event champ will be crowned in 13 days.

The day saw 925 runners take their seats, and when all was said and done after five two-hour levels just 661 remained. Timothy Lau bagged up the chip lead, spinning his 50,000 starting up to 338,700 by the time the bags were brought out. He’s joined at the top by fellow American Truyen Nguyen with 324,800, and the UK’s Chris Fraser with 316,100.

Matt Berkey had a good opening day, ending with 185,600, just behind Kevin ‘Phwap’ Boudreau with 186,300. Alexandru Papazian (147,100), Gordon Vayo (87,100), former Main Event champions Joe Hachem (84,700), Scotty Nguyen (84,400) and Joe McKeehen (36,200), as well as Erik Seidel (72,100) will all be back for Day 2.

Alas, Blumstein won’t. He check-called all the way on a low board with pocket tens, only for Brian Yoon to hit running spades giving him the nut flush. He wasn’t the only former Main Event winner to bust though, with Qui Nguyen and Jerry Yang also hitting the rail, alongside the likes of Brian RastChristopher AndlerFelipe RamosStephen ChidwickChance Kornuth, former football star Richard Seymour and Jonathan Little.

Seymour repped the celebrity world away from the felt, and was joined by actor Kevin Pollak (71,300) and comedian Ray Romano (61,100). WSOP commentator David Tuchman (111,000) also advanced.

Attention now turns to setting up for Day 1B tomorrow, which kicks off at 11am. Check back with PocketFives tomorrow for all the latest on that one.

Top 10 Day 1A Stacks:

  1. Timothy Lau – 338,700 
  2. Truyen Nguyen – 324,800 
  3. Chris Fraser – 316,100 
  4. David McCaw – 220,400 
  5. John Vossoughi – 220,300 
  6. Matthew Davidow – 216,600 
  7. Frank Crivello – 215,000 
  8. Casey McCarrel – 206,200 
  9. Eric Hicks – 204,000 
  10. Tristan Bain – 193,200

Mizrachi Headlines PLO Giant Finale, Seeks 2nd Bracelet of Summer

Whether the buy-in is $50K or $365, it doesn’t seem to stop Michael Mizrachi from playing his best. The Grinder ended Day 2 in Event #11: $365 PLO GIANT Pot-Limit Omaha fifth in chips out of the remaining nine, and will therefore headline Tuesday’s final table.

Mizrachi came into the day as chip leader, and added to his big stack early in the day. He’d end with 10,150,000, putting him in the middle of the pack. It’s Srinivas Balasubramanian who holds a big chip lead though. His 18,325,000 is comfortably out in front of his closest competitor, Robert Cicchelli with 11,055,000. 

All players are now guaranteed $10,25, but there’s $116,015 up top for the winner. Can Mizrachi win his fifth bracelet and second of the summer? We’ll find out tomorrow when play resumes on the final table at 2pm.

Final Table Stacks:
  1. Srinivas Balasubramanian – 18,325,000 
  2. Robert Cicchelli – 11,055,000 
  3. Pete Arroyos – 10,550,000 
  4. Tim Andrew – 10,425,000 
  5. Michael Mizrachi – 10,150,000 
  6. Kevin Nomberto – 7,700,000 
  7. James Sievers – 5,450,000 
  8. Sandeep Pulusani – 4,375,000 
  9. Raymond Walton – 3,075,000

Moorman Among Final 29 in Crazy Eights

There was another big name headlining the 29 survivors over in Event #62: $888 Crazy Eights No-Limit Hold’em 8-Handed. Chris ‘moorman1’ Moorman ended Day 2 bagging chips, and will return tomorrow with 2,620,000.

It’s Galen ‘Turk Malloy’ Hall who chip leads overnight though, ending the day with 6,595,000. He’s followed by Paul ‘pvas2’ Vas Nunes with 6,410,000, Hunter Frey with 5,730,000, and Men Nguyen with 3,350,000.

There were a bunch of notable bust-outs today, including Martin Jacobson, Jeff Madsen, Eric Baldwin, Jeremy Ausmus, Mike Leah, and Ryan Riess.

Day 3 begins at 2pm with blinds at 30K/60K. There’s $888,888 up top, and they’re all guaranteed $22,292 right now.

Top 10 Stacks:

  1. Galen Hall – 6,595,000 
  2. Paul Vas Nunes – 6,410,000 
  3. Hunter Frey – 5,730,000 
  4. Men Nguyen – 3,350,000 
  5. Arthur Conan – 3,140,000 
  6. Alexandre Novaes – 2,835,000 
  7. Franz-Xaver Ditz – 2,745,000 
  8. Eduards Kudrjavcevs – 2,730,000 
  9. Chris Moorman – 2,620,000 
  10. Michael Barlow – 2,600,000

Vitch Leads Again With 14 Left in $10K Stud8

Defending champion Chris Vitch is once again the overnight chip leader in Event #64: $10,000 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo 8 or Better Championship. He’s putting up an incredible title defence, and leads the 14 Day 2 survivors with a 1,014,000 stack.

Other notables through to tomorrow include Scott Bohlman (883,000), Bryce Yockey (539,000), and Ken Aldridge (538,000), Andrew Kelsall (506,000), Jesse Martin (506,000), Tom Koral (392,000), and Mike Watson (348,000).

Vitch won $320,193 for his win in this one last year, and if he can take it down again he’ll bank more than that, with $364,387 up top. A few notables who cashed in this one today include Andrew Yeh (22nd – $14,739), Tim Finne (21st – $14,739), Daniel Negreanu (20th – $14,739), Yuval Bronshtein (19th – $14,739), Jose Paz-Gutierrez (18th – $14,739), Tim Marsters (17th – $14,739), and Richard Sklar (16th – $16,439). 

The same can’t be said for Benny Glaser, Adam Friedman, Shirley Rosario, Shaun Deeb, David Benyamine, and bubble boy Chris Klodnicki, who all busted prior to the money.

Final 14 Stacks:

  1. Chris Vitch – 1,014,000 
  2. Scott Bohlman – 883,000 
  3. Bryce Yockey – 539,000 
  4. Ken Aldridge – 538,000 
  5. Andrew Kelsall – 506,000 
  6. Jesse Martin – 506,000 
  7. Dan Matsuzuki – 418,000 
  8. Tom Koral – 392,000 
  9. Mike Watson – 348,000 
  10. Jack Duong – 343,000 
  11. Jerry Wong – 340,000 
  12. Andrew Rennhack – 338,000 
  13. Daham Wang – 284,000 
  14. Joseph Michael – 250,000 
  15. Roland Israelashvili – 231,000