Howard Mash took down the $1,000 Seniors Event on Sunday. (WSOP photo)

Sunday’s action at the 2019 World Series of Poker included the conclusion of the Seniors Event and a two-time bracelet winner picking up his third. Shaun Deeb spend Sunday building up a big chip lead in the $10,000 Dealers Choice and the one-and-only Phil Ivey bagged chips in an event to move on to Day 2.

Howard Mash Wins Seniors No-Limit Hold’em

Howard Mash turned 50 earlier this year, making him eligible for the WSOP Seniors Event for the first time. He made the most of his debut, winning the bracelet and $662,594 on Sunday night, beating the second-largest field the event has ever attracted.

Mash managed to go from the short stack with four players left to champion only after surviving a comeback attempt by his heads-up opponent Jean Fontaine that necessitated an on-the-fly change in Mash’s approach.

“I changed my strategy, and I was trying to play small pots with him because I felt like I had an advantage. I tried to keep the pots as small as possible and just grind and grind him down,” Mash said. “Then I made a couple of mistakes, I got a little too aggressive trying to end it. But I knew that I had an advantage so as long as I had chips I was in good shape.”

Mash, a financial advisor from Florida, cashed in the 2018 WSOP Main Event for $42,980.

Fontaine earned $409,249 for his runner-up finish.

Final Table Payouts

  1. Howard Mash – $662,594
  2. Jean Fontaine – $409,249
  3. James Mcnurlan – $303,705
  4. Adam Richardson – $226,996
  5. Donald Matusow – $170,887
  6. Farhad Jamasi – $129,582
  7. Samir Husaynue – $98,981
  8. Mike Lisanti – $76,165
  9. Mansour Alipourfard – $59,044

$1,000 Double Stack No Limit Hold’em Roars Into the Money

The 2,327 players who made it through Day 1A and 1B of the $1,000 Double Stack No Limit Hold’em event combined on Sunday for Day 2 and after 10 60-minute levels, only 359 survived. Arianna Son leads with 2,363,000 but former #1 PocketFiver Ari Engel bagged up 16,83,000 for the eighth biggest stack.

Among the notables moving on to Day 2 include Rex Clinkscales, Joseph Cheong,  Steven van Zadelhoff, Jack Sinclair, Tim West, and Dylan Linde.

After the bubble burst, there were 573 who made it into the money but not through to Day 3. This includes Chance Kornuth, Matthias Eibinger, Valentin Vornicu, Maria Lampropulos, Jeff Madsen, Dietrich Fast, TJ Cloutier, and Bryan Piccioli.

Action resumes at Noon and will include 10 more levels of play.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Arianna Son – 2,363,000
  2. Radoslav Stoyanov – 2,000,000
  3. Ignacio Molina – 1,997,000
  4. Enrico Rudelitz – 1,855,000
  5. Unknown – 1,800,070
  6. Romain Nussmann – 1,708,000
  7. Eric Cruz – 1,690,000
  8. Ari Engel – 1,683,000
  9. Silvio Costa – 1,555,000
  10. Robert Schmidt – 1,550,000

Shaun Deeb Leads $10K Dealers Choice with Five Left

Reigning WSOP Player of the Year Shaun Deeb was hellbent on defending that title before the Series started. He’s picked up six cashes so far, but on Sunday he took a giant step towards his fifth bracelet by finishing Day 3 of the $10,000 Dealers Choice event with the chip lead. Just four players stand between Deeb and the $312,417 first place prize money and 1,017 POY points.

Deeb bagged 2,601,000 which puts him 703,000 ahead of the next closest competitor, Adam Friedman. Matt Glantz, Michael McKennea, and David Moskowitz round out the five remaining players.

There were only six eliminations on Sunday including Jeffrey Lisandro in 10th, Bryce Yockey in eighth, Phillip Hui in seventh, and Nick Schulman in sixth.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Shaun Deeb – 2,601,000
  2. Adam Friedman – 1,898,000
  3. Matt Glantz – 1,401,000
  4. Michael McKenna – 1,038,000
  5. David Moskowitz – 382,000

Justin Bonomo Headlines $3,000 No Limit Hold’em Shootout Final Table

The second day of play in the $3,000 No Limit Hold’em Shootout event took the field from 40 players down to 10 after 10 four-handed tables each played down to a winner. The biggest name at the final table is Justin Bonomo, but he’ll have to contend with Andrew Lichtenberger, Martin Zamani, and Alexandru Papazian if he wants to add a fourth bracelet to his collection.

Players narrowly missing out on the final table included James Obst, Dario Sammartino, Jesse Sylvia, Rainer Kempe, Taylor Paur, and Kristen Bicknell.

The final table begins at Noon PT.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Jan Lakota – 623,000
  2. Ben Farrell – 621,000
  3. David Lambard – 621,000
  4. Andrew Lichtenberger – 614,000
  5. Alexandru Papazian – 609,000
  6. Adrien Delmas – 609,000
  7. Martin Zamani – 601,000
  8. Weiyi Zhang – 599,000
  9. Johan Guilbert – 599,000
  10. Justin Bonomo – 591,000

Phil Ivey Moves Onto Day 2 of $800 No Limit Hold’em Deepstack

Brazil’s Jose Carlos Brito finished with the biggest stack at the end of Day 1 of the $800 No Limit Hold’em Deepstack event, but all eyes on Day 2 will most likely be on Phil Ivey. The 10-time bracelet winner ended Day 1 with 123,000 – 653,000 behind Brito’s 776,000.

Ivey’s not the only big name Phil who bagged and tagged on Day 1. Phil Hellmuth also managed to finish with chips. He enters Day 2 with 231,000.

Elio Fox, Manig Loeser, Brock Parker, Ismael Bojang, Kelly Minkin, Chris Moorman, and Kenny Hallaert are just some of the other notables that advanced to Day 2.

The event drew 2,808 entries, of which just 671 survived. Play resumes at Noon.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Jose Carlos Brito – 776,000
  2. Danny Ghobrial – 671,500
  3. Ben Gilbert – 577,500
  4. Dang Toan Nguyen – 555,500
  5. Bruce Rosenberg – 535,000
  6. Carlos Vasconcelos – 525,500
  7. Jimmy D’Ambrosio – 525,500
  8. Brandon Caputo – 514,500
  9. Marco Bognanni – 512,000
  10. Johann Ibanez – 509,000

Upeshka De Silva Wins Third Bracelet in $600 Online NLHE Bounty Event

Upeshka De Silva was up late into the night Sunday, but it paid off handsomely when he beat Dave Nodes heads-up to win $600 Online No Limit Hold’em Bounty event for $98,262.73 from the prize pool and the third bracelet of his career.

Nodes scored $60,092.28 for his runner-up finish.

De Silva’s first two bracelets came in 2015 ($1,500 No Limit Hold’em) and 2017 ($3,000 No Limit Hold’em Shootout).

Final Table Payouts

  1. Upeshka ‘gomezhamburg’ De Silva – $98,262.72
  2. Dave ‘Dave419’ Nodes – $60,092.28
  3. davidas777 – $42,962.40
  4. Pretabotones – $31,065.12
  5. Turko – $22,748.04
  6. P. Bateman – $16,854.48
  7. johnsonck – $12,688.40
  8. B3ndTheKnee – $9,583.92
  9. BoatyBoatz8A – $7,380.72

Player of the Year Update

Dan Zack now has eight cashes this summer and thanks to the124 points he earned on Sunday after busting the $1,000 Double Stack, he became the first player to move past 2,000 points. The group of three players closely following Zack, Scott Clements, Robert Campbell, and Daniel Strelitz each have between 1,597.26 and 1,642.02 points.

1 Dan Zack 2,093.00
2 Scott Clements 1,642.02
3 Robert Campbell 1,605.08
4 Daniel Strelitz 1,597.26
5 Stephen Song 1,503.76

Monday’s WSOP Schedule