The 2019 WSOP Player of the Year race will be determined after the 15 gold bracelet events at King's Resort in Rozvadov.

The World Series of Poker is gearing up for their return to King’s Resort in Rozvadov for the 2019 WSOPE from October 13-November 4.

For the third year in a row, Leon Tosukernik’s casino in the Czech Republic will play host to the WSOP’s European series where it’s very likely that the 2019 WSOP Player of the Year winner will be determined.

Fifteen Gold Bracelet Events

After rolling out an initial slate of 11 gold bracelet events, organizers have recently increased the number of events to 15 due to player feedback. The changes include a pair of tournaments to entice the high-rollers including a €250,000 Super High Roller as well as €25,500 Mixed Game Championship.

“Coming off the success of the 50th Annual World Series of Poker in Las Vegas, we took another look at the initial WSOPE schedule and felt we could enhance it,” said WSOP Vice President Jack Effel. ”Leon and his team have been great partners for WSOP Europe and while the dates of the 2019 event haven’t changed, we were able to find some room to add some exciting new events that will drive bigger prize pools and see players busy.”

2019 WSOPE Schedule

10-13 Opener No-Limit Hold’em – Flight A €350
10-14 Pot-Limit Omaha (8-Handed) – Flight A €550
10-14 Opener No-Limit Hold’em – Flight B €350
10-15 Pot-Limit Omaha (8-Handed) – Flight B €550
10-16 Mini Main Event No-Limit Hold’em – Flight A €1,350
10-16 Super High Roller No-Limit Hold’em €250,000
10-17 Mini Main Event No-Limit Hold’em – Flight B €1,350
10-17 8-Game Mix €2,500
10-18 Mini Main Event No-Limit Hold’em – Flight C €1,350
10-18 Short Deck High Roller No-Limit Hold’em €25,500
10-19 Turbo Bounty Hunter No-Limit Hold’em €1,100
10-20 Platinum High Roller No-Limit Hold’em €25,500
10-20 Pot-Limit Omaha/No-Limit Hold’em Mix €1,650
10-21 Mixed Games Championship €25,500
10-22 Pot-Limit Omaha €2,200
10-23 Diamond High Roller No-Limit Hold’em €100,000
10-24 Short Deck No-Limit Hold’em €2,500
10-25 Main Event No-Limit Hold’em – Flight A €10,300
10-26 Main Event No-Limit Hold’em – Flight B €10,300
10-28 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight A €550
10-29 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight B €550
10-30 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight C €550
10-31 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight D €550
10-31 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight E €550
11-01 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight F €550
11-01 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight G €550
11-02 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight H €550
11-02 Colossus No-Limit Hold’em – Flight I €550

Player Of The Year

The increased schedule adds plenty of potential Player of the Year points that could make a big difference in the tight 2019 POY race.

On the back of two gold bracelet victories during the summer series, Australian Robert Campbell currently sits atop the WSOP Player of the Year leaderboard however he’s trailed closely behind by a number of top-tier pros, all of whom have declared at some point that they had their sights on taking down the 2019 WSOP Player of the Year.

Right behind Campbell, sitting in second place on the leaderboard, is former #1-ranked PocketFiver and the 2018 WSOP Player of the Year, Shaun Deeb. Deeb is expected to make the trip to King’s Casino as he is looking to make WSOP history by winning the award in back-to-back years.

Also looking to make history is Daniel Negreanu, who is sitting in third place. Negreanu has already declared that he will be in Rozvadov in search of a record-extending third POY award.

After winning his first WSOP gold bracelet this summer, Dan Zack, who currently sits in fourth place, said his plan at the start of the year was to chase the POY award, however, he has indicated that he does not plan on attending.

The 2019 Poker Players Championship winner Phillip Hui is still well within striking distance sitting in fifth place.

The recent additions of a Mixed Game Championship to the WSOPE schedule play to the strengths of these five players as all five have proven to excel in mixed games as well as No Limit Hold’em.

2019 WSOP Player of the Year Top 10

1 Robert Campbell 3,418.78
2 Shaun Deeb 3,280.13
3 Daniel Negreanu 3,166.24
4 Daniel Zack 3,126.13
5 Phillip Hui 2,881.67
6 Jason Gooch 2,643.72
7 Joseph Cheong 2,595.54
8 David “ODB” Baker 2,480.06
9 Chris Ferguson 2,476.96
10 Anthony Zinno 2,443.22

World Series of Poker Europe Main Event

The World Series of Poker Europe Main Event has never been the same spectacle as it’s summer series counterpart, but since 2007 (with the exception of 2014 & 2016) the WSOPE has crowned its own Main Event champion with all ten of the previous champions earning at least $1 million.

When the WSOPE first took place in 2007, online poker phenom Annette Obrestad won the Main Event becoming the youngest player to ever win a bracelet. She defeated the field of 362 players to take home the £1,000,000 first-place prize, which at the time, converted to over $2 million USD, the largest prize in the event’s history.

The field size remained static for the first four years of the event until 2011 when entires spiked to 593. That year, Elio Fox defeated former #1-ranked PocketFiver Chris Moorman for the WSOPE Main Event title and €1,400,000. However, the aftereffect of Black Friday also hit the WSOPE fields and over the next three events, from 2012-2015, fields dipped to an all-time low. In 2015, Kevin MacPhee took home the title in a field of just 313 players.

After a break in 2016, the WSOPE returned and began its tenure at King’s Casino in Rozvadov. Giving players the option of a single reentry for the Main Event, the entries once again soared over 500. In 2018, the UK’s Jack Sinclair won the second-largest WSOPE Main Event in its 10-year history taking home a career-high prize of €1,122,239.

History of WSOPE Main Event Winners

2007 Annette Obrestad $2,013,733 362
2008 John Juanda $1,580,096 362
2009 Barry Shulman $1,321,534 334
2010 James Bord $1,281,048 346
2011 Elio Fox $1,870,208 593
2012 Phil Hellmuth $1,333,841 420
2013 Adrian Mateos $1,351,661 375
2015 Kevin MacPhee $1,001,576 313
2017 Marti Roca de Torres $1,297,551 529
2018 Jack Sinclair $1,277,012 534